Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
Shop ProRodeo


Coli honored as Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year

Oct.16, 2013

Dr. Joseph Coli 2013 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian Of The YearCOLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. –
Dr. Joseph Coli, who has overseen the animal welfare effort for the Reno (Nev.) Rodeo since joining the committee in 1983, has been named 2013 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year. Coli will be recognized at the PRCA Awards Banquet Dec. 4 in Las Vegas and in the arena Dec. 6 during the 55th annual Wrangler National Finals Rodeo at the Thomas & Mack Center.

“I certainly was surprised when I won. I had been nominated in prior years, but I wasn’t aware that they nominated me again this year,” said Coli, who was recommended by the Reno Rodeo, Cotton Rosser and Bob Feist. “I told Dr. (Doug) Corey when he called me (with the news) that I was a little shocked, and a little stunned, but it was certainly a wonderful thing to hear.”

Not everyone was surprised at Coli’s selection – members of the Reno Rodeo Committee regard Coli as an important asset to their event.   “We are really pleased that Joe Coli is getting this national attention for the work he does with and through Reno Rodeo,” said Alan Kingsley, Reno Rodeo Executive Director. “He is always working quietly, behind the scenes, to keep the rodeo stock and the contestants’ horses in good shape.”

The Nevada native has practiced in several areas of veterinary medicine, including small animal care. In addition to volunteering at the Reno Rodeo and other equestrian events, Coli has been a partner at the Comstock Large Animal Hospital since 1992 and is a former president of the Nevada Veterinary Association.

“This is really special,” Coli said about his selection as the 2013 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year. “I’m certainly very, very honored to win and very humbled by the fact that there were so many wonderful candidates who were so qualified. To even be considered among them was an honor.”

Other finalists for the 2013 award included Dr. J. Fred Rule of Elk City, Okla.; Dr. Jerry Billquist of Billings, Mont.; Dr. Marty Dean Tanner of Elgin, Texas; and Dr. John Boyington of Phillipsburg, Kan.

The Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award was created in 2010 to recognize the dedication of veterinarians across the country to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock. Nominations are submitted by PRCA members and PRCA rodeo committees. The selection committee reviews those nominations for specific contributions to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock, extent of involvement in the sport of rodeo and community involvement.

 Past winners of the PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award include:  Dr. William Anderson, Fort Worth, Texas, 2010; Dr. Garth Lamb, Las Vegas, Nev., 2011; and Dr. Jake Wells, San Antonio, Texas, 2012. 

For full coverage of the Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award, including an interview with Coli, read the Oct. 25 issue of the ProRodeo Sports News.

Photo of Dr. Coli available upon request. For more information, call Cindy Schonholtz at 719.440.7255

PRCA Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

     HTML Sitemap | XML Sitemap
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App PRCA on CC+