Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
Shop ProRodeo



Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian Of The Year

Rodeo Vet Award Winners to be awarded at the 2019 PRCA Awards Banquet

The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association is pleased to recognize veterinarians involved in the sport rodeo with the annual “PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award” . The recipient will be honored at the PRCA Awards Banquet in Las Vegas as well as during the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.  This award goes to a veterinarian who exemplifies extraordinary dedication and commitment to the well being of professional rodeo livestock.

“We will honor one veterinarian each year, but it is also recognition of the hundreds of veterinarians who are on-site at PRCA rodeos and who care for livestock in their communities,” said ProRodeo Hall of Famer and Chairman of the PRCA’s Animal Welfare Committee, Doug Corey, DVM.

The award-winning PRCA Livestock Welfare Department is involved in outreach and education, along with implementing rules for the proper care and treatment of livestock.

PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award Winners:

 Eddit Taylor 2019 Dr. Eddie Taylor
Dr. Eddie Taylor, of LaPorte, Colo., was named the 2019 PRCA | Zoetis Veterinarian of the Year thanks
to 32 years as the attending veterinarian at La Fiesta de los Vaqueros in Tucson, Ariz.
Click here to read more about our rodeo vet award winners. 
 dr-graham-2018-winner2 2018 Dr. Charles W. Graham, D.V.M.
Dr. Charles W. Graham, D.V.M., was named the 2018 PRCA Veterinarian of the Year for the work he’s done with Rodeo Austin and many of professional rodeo’s top animal athletes since
the early 1960s. Click here to read more.
 Dr. Jerry Billquist 2017 Dr. Jerry Billquist
With more than 25 years of service and dedication to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock, Dr. Jerry Billquist has been selected as the 2017 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year. Billquist will be honored at the PRCA Awards Banquet on Dec. 6 at the South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa in Las Vegas. Click here to read more.
tanner-vet 2016 Dr. Marty Tanner
Nomination letters praising Dr. Tanner were received from ProRodeo Hall of Famers Phil Lyne and Joe Beaver; Shawn Davis, Executive General Manager of the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo presented by Polaris RANGER; numerous rodeo contestants; and community dignitaries. These letters spoke of Dr. Tanner’s dedication to the welfare and treatment of rodeo livestock, his community involvement, and commitment to the sport of rodeo. Click here to read more. 
2015 Dr. John Boyington
For the last 25 years, Dr. Boyington has served as the on-site veterinarian for Kansas’ Biggest Rodeo in Phillipsburg, Kan. As a contestant in 1978, Dr. Boyington won the Phillipsburg Rodeo steer wrestling title, only to put his rodeo career on hold to pursue a career in veterinary medicine.
Click here to read more.
2014 Dr. J. Fred Rule, Elk City, Okla.
Dr. J. Fred Rule, a PRCA Gold Card member who has been caring for the livestock of the Beutler family of stock contractors for four generations, has been voted the PRCA Veterinarian of the Year for 2014. Click here to read more about our 2014 rodeo vet award winner. 
Dr. Joseph Coli 2013 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian Of The Year 2013 - Dr. Joseph Coli, Reno, Nev.
Dr. Joseph Coli, who has overseen the animal welfare effort for the Reno (Nev.) Rodeo since joining the committee in 1983, has been named 2013 PRCA Veterinarian of the Year. Coli will be recognized at the PRCA Awards Banquet Dec. 4 in Las Vegas and in the arena Dec. 6 during the 55th annual Wrangler National Finals Rodeo at the Thomas & Mack Center.
Click here to read more
Jake Wells 2012 Winner 2012 - Dr.Jake Wells, San Antonio, Texas
Dr. Wells began volunteering his time as the official rodeo veterinarian for the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo (S.A.L.E) in 1976 and became a life member in 1982 and a member of the Board of Directors in 1986. He was elected to the Executive Committee in 1995 eventually serving as President from 2002 – 2004. [ MORE ]
Garth 2011 – Dr. Garth Lamb, Las Vegas, Nevada
Dr.Garth Lamb has served as the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (NFR) veterinarian since the event moved to Las Vegas in 1985, and earned the 2011 PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award. [ MORE ]
William Anderson 2010 – Dr. William Anderson, Haltom City, Texas
Dr. Bill Anderson has been the official veterinarian of the Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show in Fort Worth, Texas, for 30 years – ever since he earned his DVM at the University of Missouri in 1980. In December 2010, he was named the PRCA’s first Purina Veterinarian of the Year. Click here to read more (.pdf)

PRCA Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

     HTML Sitemap | XML Sitemap
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App PRCA on CC+