2017 WNFR Logo

December 7-16, 2017 - Las Vegas

The Wrangler National Finals Rodeo presented by Polaris RANGER is the season-ending championship event for the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association and is widely acknowledged to be the world’s premier rodeo. Held annually since 1959 – and since 1985, every December at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas – the Wrangler NFR is ProRodeo’s richest and most prestigious rodeo, and it showcases the very best cowboys, barrel racers and livestock in the world.

A new contract keeps the Wrangler NFR in Las Vegas for another 10 years (2015-24) and raises prize money significantly over that decade. It is telecast to more than 55 million households on CBS Sports Net. New in 2015: Polaris RANGER became the presenting sponsor of the event, and awards each newly crowned world champion a brand new Polaris RANGER UTV.

The top 15 contestants in the standard rodeo events – bareback riding, steer wrestling, team roping (headers and heelers), saddle bronc riding, tie-down roping, WPRA barrel racing and bull riding – qualify to compete at the Wrangler NFR based on money won during the regular season including Wrangler Champions Challenge events presented by Justin, the Justin Boots Playoffs and Championships presented by Wrangler, and for many bull riders, PRCA Xtreme Bulls Tour earnings. At the conclusion of the Wrangler NFR, the sport’s world champions are determined based on total season earnings – what they win during the Wrangler NFR added to what they won during the regular season, before the Wrangler NFR.

The Wrangler NFR consists of 10 rounds – one round on each of 10 consecutive days; each contestant competes once each day. Cowboys and barrel racers earn money by placing first through sixth in any round, and pick up more money by placing first through eighth in the average (cumulative times or points earned during the 10 rounds). At the end of each Wrangler NFR, there are two champions in each event (four for team roping): the average winner, who won the Wrangler NFR by having the best cumulative time or score for that event over the 10 rounds, and the world champion, who finished the year with the most money (including what he or she earned at the Wrangler NFR). For each event, the average winner and world champion may be the same person or different people.

The 2015 Wrangler NFR was highlighted by a number of remarkable achievements and developments, including these:

  • Due to the increased prize purse under the new contract with Las Vegas – which rose from $6,375,000 in 2014 to $10 million in 2015 – leads changed constantly throughout the competition, bringing added excitement for the crowds as well as TV viewers at home. Each contestant earned $10,000 just for qualifying; first place in a round paid $26,231 and first place in the average paid $67,269.
  • Only one event (barrel racing) did not see a record set for single-contestant/single-year Wrangler NFR earnings.
  • Bull rider Sage Kimzey became the first PRCA contestant to win world titles each of his first two years as a member.

At the 2015 National Finals Steer Roping in Mulvane, Kan., Jess Tierney tied Cash Myers’ 2005 record for fastest time in a round, at 8.3 seconds.

Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Sponsors

American Quarter Horse Association

B & W Trailer Hitches

Boot Barn

Boyd Gaming

Coors Banquet

Gold Coast

Hesston by Massey Furguson

Justin Boots

Las Vegas Convention And Visitors Bureau

Mirage Las Vegas

Montana Silversmith

Pendleton Whisky

Priefert Rodeo & Ranch Equipment

RAM Rodeo

Resistol Hats

Sam's Town

South Point Hotel, Spa and Casino


Polaris Ranger

Weather Guard

Copyright © 2017 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of ProRodeo.com may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler Champions Challenge Justin Boots Playoffs Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear