Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
Shop ProRodeo

PRCA For The Record: San Antonio

by Matt Naber | Feb 04, 2020

PRCA Media Coordinator

Since 1950, the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo has hosted some of the biggest names in ProRodeo and witnessed some fast times and high scores, as cowboys competed for this iconic rodeo’s large payout.

Winning big at San Antonio can set the pace for the rest of the year, as this Texas rodeo featured the second-highest committee purse of 2019. The only rodeo with a bigger committee purse was the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. 

With such a large payout, it’s not uncommon for cowboys to leave San Antonio with more than $25,000. Last year, all of San Antonio’s winners went home with more than $22,000 and most of them went on to qualify for the 2019 Wrangler NFR. Last year's winners and their total earnings in San Antonio were:

• Bareback rider Orin Larsen: $29,500
• Steer wrestler Tyler Waguespack: $22,750
• Team ropers Tate Kirchenschlager/Ross Ashford: $25,750 each
• Saddle bronc rider Wade Sundell: $26,500
• Tie-down roper Shane Hanchey: $23,500
• Barrel racer Hailey Kinsel: $29,500
• Bull rider J.W. Harris: $25,250

When the stakes are high, so is the level of competition, and nothing paints a more vivid picture of this than the rodeo’s records. 

In 2018, team ropers Coleman Proctor and Billie Jack Saebens set the San Antonio record with a 3.7-second run during the second round of Bracket 2. The duo went on to win the rodeo with $23,015.

Proctor is a five-time qualifier for the Wrangler NFR (2014-17, 2019) and has more than $1.1 million in career earnings since joining the PRCA in 2004. Saebens is a two-time qualifier for the Wrangler NFR (2016-17) with more than $500,000 in career earnings since joining the PRCA in 2012.  

Winning San Antonio is a life-changing experience, but only the best leave their mark by setting an arena record.

Cowboys have from Feb. 6-22 to top Proctor and Saebens’ time, and the rest of San Antonio’s records, while earning their share of the prize money as well as valuable points in the ProRodeo Tour

The San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo will be aired on The Cowboy Channel beginning Feb. 9.

Rodeo records

Total payout: $1,480,500, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Bareback riding: 93 points, Kaycee Feild, 2011

Steer wrestling: 3.0 seconds, Tim Sparing, 2014; Aaron Vosler, 2019

Team roping: 3.7 seconds, Coleman Proctor/Billie Jack Saebens, 2018

Saddle bronc riding: 92 points, Taos Muncy, 2008; Wade Sundell, 2019

Tie-down roping: 6.6 seconds, Hunter Herrin, 2016 and 2017

Barrel racing: 13.60 seconds, Hailey Kinsel, 2018

Steer roping: 9.1 seconds, Trevor Brazile, 2012 (31.1/3, Trevor Brazile, 2011)

Bull riding: 94 points, Ardie Maier, 2010

San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo Xtreme Bulls: 95 points, B.J. Schumacher, 2004

PRCA Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

     HTML Sitemap | XML Sitemap
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App PRCA on CC+