Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA | Resistol Rookies of the Year

by Matt Naber | Oct 17, 2018

PRCA Resistol Rookies

First impressions are everything, particularly in professional rodeo. Rookies in each event spend the year working toward winning the PRCA | Resistol Rookie of the Year honors, but only the best claim the prize.

Now that the 2018 standings have been audited by a third party and finalized, the 2018 PRCA | Resistol Rookies of the Year have been officially named. 

Tanner Green is the 2018 All-Around Rookie of the Year. The 20-year-old Cotulla, Texas, cowboy won $52,394 between team roping and tie-down roping.

“This wasn’t my main goal for the year, but it means a lot because my granddad (Phil Lyne) won the world title in All-Around (in 1971-72), and it’s a big accomplishment,” Green said.

Zach Hibler is the 2018 Bareback Riding Rookie of the Year with $42,877. The 21-year-old Wheeler, Texas, cowboy said this was his main goal for the year. 

“I went to a lot of the bigger rodeos this year and it was a great experience to learn how they work and compete with the best guys in the PRCA and the best horses,” Hibler said.

Brendan Laye is the 2018 Steer Wrestling Rookie of the Year with $30,767. Although the 28-year-old cowboy is new to the PRCA scene, this Consort, Alberta, steer wrestler competed for several years in the Great White North. 

“To finally go down there and have some success is a pretty cool experience for me,” Laye said.

Jeff Flenniken is the 2018 Team Roping Heading Rookie of the Year. The 22-year-old Caldwell, Idaho, cowboy won $61,826 primarily alongside Jake Minor, who ranked 17th in the PRCA | RAM World Standings for team roping heeling. 

“It’s been one of my main goals this year and it’s super exciting,” Flenniken said.

Ross Ashford is the 2018 Team Roping Heeling Rookie of the Year. The 20-year-old Lott, Texas, cowboy won $26,917 by competing alongside Laramie Allen and Blake Teixeira. 

“It’s really exciting, and it’s a pretty special one because you only have one shot at it,” Ashford said.
Dawson Hay is the 2018 Saddle Bronc Riding Rookie of the Year. The 20-year-old Wildwood, Alberta, cowboy won $39,605. 

“It means a lot for sure because that was definitely my goal because my dad (Rob Hay) was the Rookie of the Year in 1989,” Hay said.

Ty Harris is the 2018 Tie-down Roping Rookie of the Year. The 20-year-old San Angelo, Texas, cowboy won $62,752. 

“It was a big goal for me and something I worked for for a long time,” Harris said.

Chance Gasperson is the 2018 Steer Roping Rookie of the Year. The Bridgeport, Texas, cowboy will celebrate his 27th birthday on Oct. 28 knowing that he topped the rookie steer roping standings with $10,243. 

“I decided to rodeo this year because I have a baby girl on the way in January, so I want to be home for her next year and I had the opportunity to be gone more this year,” Gasperson said. 

Clayton Sellars is the 2018 Bull Riding Rookie of the Year. The 20-year-old Fruitland Park, Fla., cowboy won $90,863, ranking 19th in the 2018 PRCA | RAM World Standings.  

“It means a lot that I accomplished what I set out to do for the year,” Sellars said.

For more coverage of the 2018 PRCA | Resistol Rookies of the Year, check out the Oct. 19 digital edition of ProRodeo Sports News. 

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com