The Official Home Page Of The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association PRCA RAM WORLD STANDINGS

Official Gear Of The PRCA

News & Notes Archive

For the Record: Nebraska’s Big Rodeo

Since Nebraska’s Big Rodeo started in 1921 in the small farming town of Burwell, this rodeo has seen its share of rodeo legends, and legendary rides. The likes of Casey Tibbs and Larry Mahan have competed in Burwell, but only the best rides make the arena record books.

Nebraska’s Big Rodeo kicked off its 96th competition on July 26 and the final round is set for Saturday evening, and each ride is a chance to set a new arena record.

Nearly all of Burwell’s records have been broken within the last decade, except for bull rider Cody Snyder’s 90-point ride from 1983 which has only been matched one time – by Tyler Willis in 2012. 

Bareback rider Will Lowe set the arena record in 2013 with his 89-point ride. 

Steer wrestler Brett Gumb – a local resident of Burwell – set the arena record in 2013 with his 3.6-second time. 

The team roping arena record of 4.7 seconds, which was originally set by Dustin Davis and Kinney Harrell in 2013, has a three-way tie. In 2014, Levi Tyan and Christopher Sherman, and Nick Sartain and Rich Skelton, also clocked in at 4.7 seconds. 

Saddle bronc rider Jacobs Crawley set the Burwell record in 2014 with his 87-point ride. 

Tie-down roper Jerome Schneeberger’s 2005 time of 8.2 seconds remains the Burwell arena record. 

For 18 years, no barrel racer has been able to top Tamara Reinhardt’s 1999 record-setting time of 17.42 seconds.

Steer roper Lawson Plemons set the Burwell record with his 9.0-second time in 2009.  
PRCA National Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans
Copyright © 2018 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour