The Official Home Page Of The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association PRCA RAM WORLD STANDINGS

Official Gear Of The PRCA

News & Notes Archive

For the Record: Snake River Stampede

Bareback riders and bull riders will have their work cut out for them as they try to break the Snake River Stampede’s records that have been in place since before they were born. Of course, every ride in each event between now and the rodeo’s finale on July 22 is a chance to make the record books. 

Since 1946, the Nampa, Idaho, rodeo has seen many great rides crack the arena record book – but none have remained unbroken longer than bareback rider Bruce Ford’s 90-point ride from 1982. Ford’s score was matched by Sean Culver in 2006, and a decade later Tanner Aus set the two-head average record by going for 175 points on two. 

Bull rider Ty Murray holds Nampa’s record for longest-standing unmatched and unbroken arena record with his 92-point ride from 1993. Meanwhile, Zach Brown has held the two-head average record with 180 points since 2002. 

Steer wrestler Luke Branquinho set two records in 2004 – first with his 3.0-second run, which then contributed to his three-run average record of 10.7 seconds. 

Team ropers Derrick Begay and Will Woodfin set the Nampa arena record in 2014 with their 3.5-second run. Meanwhile, Travis Tryan and Matt Zancanella’s three-run average record of 13.2 seconds has been untouched since 2003.

Saddle bronc rider Glen O’Neill’s 89-point ride from 2000 remains the arena record. Seven years later, Chad Ferley set the two-head average record by tallying up 174 points in 2007.

Tie-down roper Tuf Cooper set the arena record with his 6.6-second run in 2009. Five years later, Cody Ohl set the two-run average record when he clocked in at 23.4 seconds in 2014.

Barrel racer Michele McLeod set two Nampa records two years in a row – first in 2013, when she set the two-run average record with 31.37 seconds. She returned to Nampa in 2014 to set the single-run record of 15.56 seconds.    

Nampa’s total payout record was set in 2014 with $385,011, and Scott Johnson set the all-around record in 2000 when he won $14,315. 
PRCA National Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans
Copyright © 2018 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour