The Official Home Page Of The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association PRCA RAM WORLD STANDINGS

News & Notes Archive

For the Record: Central Wyoming Fair & Rodeo

The Central Wyoming Fair & Rodeo in Casper kicked off on July 11 and runs through Saturday, and no records have been broken so far, but every ride/run is a chance to make the record books. 

Many records have been set, broken, or matched in Casper since 1955 – and all the currently-standing records were made in the 21st century.

Casper’s record for total payout was set in 2015 with $263,988. One year later, Caleb Smidt set the record for most money won in all-around at $7,982 in 2016.

There’s a three-way tie in bareback riding with Jared Smith’s 88-point ride in 2009 matched by Heath Ford in 2011 and Steven Dent in 2013. While Smith set the record in 2009, Steven Peebles set the two-head average record with 172 points on two head. 

Steer wrestler Wade Sumpter holds the Casper record with his 2011 run of 3.1 seconds. Sumpter also set the three-head average record in 2011 with 11.9 seconds on three runs. The two-head average record was set by both Casey McMillen and Matt Reeves in 2007 with both bulldoggers clocking in at 7.6 seconds on two runs.

Casper’s team roping record was set by Tyler Wade and Tyler McKnight in 2012 with their 3.9-second run. There’s a four-way tie for the two-head average record at 10.3 seconds on two runs that was originally set in 2001 by Charles Pogue and Britt Bockius and Clay Tryan and Caleb Twisselman. Their shared record was later matched by Travis Tryan and Michael Jones in 2008 and Tyler Wade and Dakota Kirchenschlager in 2016. 

Meanwhile, the three-run average team roping record was set by Clay Tryan and Patrick Smith in 2006.

Saddle bronc rider Jake Wright set the Casper record in 2012 with his 90-point ride, while also matching Jess Martin’s two-head average record from 2002 at 172 points on two head.

Tie-down roper Fred Whitfield set two Casper records in 2002, first with his 7.4-second run, and then with his two-run average of 16.2 seconds. Justin Maas set the three-run average record in 2012 by going for 25.9 seconds on three runs.

Barrel racer Patti Jo Higdon holds the Casper record with her 2003 time of 16.24 seconds.

Bull rider Craig Begay set the Casper record in 2009 with his 92-point ride and Gary Burt set the two-head average record in 2002 by going for 176 points on two head.

Check back with for full results at the Central Wyoming Fair & Rodeo. 
PRCA National Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger
Copyright © 2018 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour