The Official Home Page Of The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association PRCA RAM WORLD STANDINGS

Official Gear Of The PRCA

News & Notes Archive

For the record: West of the Pecos Rodeo

Six arena records were set or matched in the last couple of years at the West of the Pecos (Texas) Rodeo. But, steer wrestler Robert House’s 1960 record time of 3.6 seconds has yet to be topped in the last 57 years, and six saddle bronc riders share the Pecos arena record for highest-scored ride.

There’s still three more nights of Pecos rodeo action, and each run is a chance to top one of the following arena records. 

Trevor Brazile holds the Pecos mark for most money won in all-around with the $12,801 he won in 2006. 

Bareback rider Ryan Gray holds the Pecos record with his 92-point ride on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Dirty Jacket in 2015.

While House holds the steer wrestling arena record of 3.6 seconds, three cowboys were just a tenth of a second away from matching his record run. Butch McMullan made a 3.7-second run in 1987 and Chuck Jankowski did the same in 1988, as did Byron Walker in 1997. Bulldogger Sean Lanciano set the two-head average record in 2006 with 9.1 seconds on two head. 

Team ropers David Key and Martin Lucero set the Pecos arena record in 2015 with their 5.4-second run. Ten years prior to that, Jared Standridge and Jory Levy clocked in at 12.7 seconds on two head in 2005. 

Six cowboys share the Pecos arena record for highest-scored saddle bronc ride, and all were accomplished within the last 10 years. Originally set by Cody DeMoss with his 88-point ride on Carr Pro Rodeo’s Hard Drive in 2008, Jace Garrett tallied the same score on Carr Pro Rodeo’s True Lies in 2010, and Cody Wright did the same on Carr Pro Rodeo’s Deuces Wild in 2013.

Two years later, two more cowboys made 88-point rides in Pecos – Steven Dent on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Deuces Wild and Isaac Diaz on Pete Carr’s Classic Pro Rodeo’s Big Tex in 2015. The sixth cowboy to make an 88-point ride was Joe Lufkin, in 2016, on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Cool Runnings. 

Tie-down roper Tyler Prcin set the Pecos record in 2015 with his 7.9-second run, and Brazile set the two-head average record with 16.9 in 2006. 

Barrel racer Benette Holt set the Pecos arena record in 2001 with her 17.16-second run. 

Steer roper Guy Allen (pictured at left) holds two Pecos arena records, from two different decades. First, he set the three-head average record in 1998 with 35.7 seconds. Then, nearly 10 years later, he returned to Pecos to set another record by clocking in at 10.1 seconds in 2007.

Bull rider Scottie Knapp set the Pecos record with his 93-point ride on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Half Nuts in 2015. 

The biggest total payout in Pecos was in 1999 when cowboys competed for $220,062. 
PRCA National Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans
Copyright © 2018 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour