The Official Home Page Of The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association PRCA RAM WORLD STANDINGS

Official Gear Of The PRCA

News & Notes Archive

For the Record: the final weekend of April

With 16 PRCA rodeos underway, this weekend could be considered the Cowboy Christmas of the spring run. Among the bunch are the RAM National Circuit Finals Steer Roping in Torrington, Wyo., where the top steer ropers from the 12 circuits will duke it out for the coveted year-end title.
Meanwhile, Rodeo Corpus Christi (Texas) will be underway, pitting some of the best competitors in all events for a shot at winning one of the biggest rodeos of the year.Every rodeo offers an opportunity to make arena record history, and this weekend’s competitions are no exception.


Bryce Davis set the record for fastest time at the RAM National Circuit Finals Steer Roping when he clocked in at 9.1 seconds in the fifth round in 2011.
Vin Fisher set the fastest average time on four head with 50.8 in 2010. Chance Kelton set the fastest times for the six-, seven-, and eight-head averages. Kelton landed 83.9 seconds on six head in 2013, 87.4 seconds on seven head in 2014 and 117.9 seconds on eight head in 2012.
Trent Mills holds the record for most money won at the NCFSR with a $10,093 payday in 2011. The Prairie Circuit team set the record for most money won by a single team in 2010 with $15,770.
Guy Allen holds the record for most year-end titles with 15 – 1981-83 (Southern Circuit), 1989-91 (Turquoise Circuit), 1992-94 (Prairie Circuit), 1995-96 and 2000-01 (Turquoise Circuit) and 2004-05 (Texas Circuit). Allen also holds the record for the most consecutive year-end titles for his eight-year run from 1989-96.


All the arena records at Rodeo Corpus Christi set in the 20th century have since been broken. Tie-down roper Josh Crow set the oldest still-standing arena record in 2000 with his 6.8-second run.
Trevor Brazile still holds the record for most money won in the all-around at Corpus Christi with the $6,561 he won in 2013.
Bareback rider Kaycee Feild's 91-point ride on Frontier Rodeo’s Delta Force in 2010 has yet to be matched
Steer wrestler Shawn Greenfield set the Corpus Christi record for the fastest time in 2004 with a 3.3-second run that was matched by Zack Cobb in 2010. Jim Bob Claymore holds the two-head average with a 6.9 that he set in 2003.
Team ropers JoJo LeMond and Randon Adams set two records in 2009, a 3.5-second run and 8.2 seconds on two head.
Saddle bronc rider Bradley Harter nailed a 91-point ride on Frontier Rodeo Company’s Let Er Rip in 2009 that was matched by Rusty Wright last year on the 2016 Pendleton Whisky “Let ‘er Buck” Bucking Stock of the Year winner, Frontier Rodeo’s Medicine Woman.
Although tie-down ropers Tommy Guy, Bubba Paschal and Landon McClaugherty didn’t top Crow’s 6.8-second run, they did create a three-way tie for the two-head average at Rodeo Corpus Christi. Guy (2003), Paschal (2009) and McClaugherty (2012) each clocked in at 17.0 seconds on two head.
Barrel racer Tana Poppino made the fastest Corpus Christi run in 2011 with a time of 13.01 seconds.
In addition to his all-around record, Brazile’s 9.0-second time in steer roping from 2013 remains untouched. Jason Evans set the four-head average record in 2016 with 46.2.
Bull rider Cooper Kangiesser’s 93-point ride on Frontier Rodeo’s Jed Clambet in 2011 has yet to be matched or topped.

At the Clovis Rodeo, the longest-standing arena record is in bull riding. Rodney Lidgard had a 92-point ride and had 181 points in the two-head average, in 1993, and both records still stand.
The all-around record at Clovis belongs to Rhen Richard ($9,554 in 2015), while the bareback riding mark belongs to Will Lowe (89 points, 2005).
Lowe also shares the two-head average record of 171 points with Jake Brown. Lowe’s 171 came in 2005, and Brown’s happened in 2016.
Steer wrestler John W. Jones Jr. has the arena record with his 3.3-second run in 1998. Wade Sumpter has the average record with an 18.3-second time on four head.Team ropers Spencer Mitchell/Justin Wade Davis set the arena record last year with a 4.2-second time. Clay Tryan/Jade Corkill established the average record in 2014 with a 23.2-second time on four head.Saddle bronc rider Jacobs Crawley’s 92-point ride in 2015 is the arena record. Cody Horwedel holds the average mark with 175 points on two head in 2007.
Tie-down roper Fred Whitfield has the fastest run at Clovis when he stopped the clock in 7.1 seconds in 2005. The average record is held by Hunter Herrin at 32.4 seconds on four head.
Barrel racer Liz Combs holds the arena record with a 16.13-second run in 2014.


PRCA National Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans
Copyright © 2018 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour