Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
Shop ProRodeo

PRCA For The Record: Odessa

by Matt Naber | Jan 06, 2020

PRCA Media Coordinator

Since 1955, ProRodeo cowboys have kicked off the new calendar year at the Sandhills Stock Show & Rodeo in Odessa, Texas. Since, this Lone Star State rodeo has played host to some high-scoring rides and speedy times, but only the top scores and times make the rodeo’s record book.

Australian cowboy Sam Spreadborough set the Odessa saddle bronc riding record his rookie year with an 87-point ride on Vold’s Geronimo in 2003. He went on to win the 2003 PRCA | Resistol Rookie of the Year title in saddle bronc riding and won many of ProRodeo’s biggest competitions.

Spreadborough’s Odessa record went unmatched until 2011 when two-time world champion Cody Wright had an 87-point ride on Harry Vold Rodeo’s Elvis. In 2019, Preston Burr joined their ranks with his 87-point ride on Beutler & Son Rodeo's Nutrena's Bombshell.

Spreadborough qualified for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo in 2010 and 2011, and won the RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo in 2012. All told, the cowboy from Tamworth, New South Wales, earned nearly $500,000 during his ProRodeo career before hanging up his ProRodeo spurs in 2016. 

Cowboys have until Jan. 11 to top Odessa’s three-way saddle bronc riding record, and others, while winning their share of the Odessa prize money.

Rodeo records

Total payoff: $343,913, 2007 
All-around: $12,394, Rich Skelton, 2007
Bareback riding: 87 points, Bo Casper, 2007; Russ Hallaby, 2007; Ty Breuer, 2009; Austin Foss, 2017; Taylor Broussard, 2019 (170/2, Joe Gunderson, 2005)
Steer wrestling: 3.2 seconds, Ronnie Fields, 2010 (7.5/2, Jake Shaw, 2012)
Team roping: 3.6 seconds, Travis Tryan/Michael Jones, 2010 (8.5/2, Tanner Green/Scotty Raines in 2017; Jake Cooper/Logan Medlin in 2018; Dustin Egusquiza/Kory Koontz, 2019; 16.2/3, Travis Tryan/Allen Bach, 2006)
Saddle bronc riding: 87 points, Sam Spreadborough, 2003; Cody Wright, 2011; Preston Burr, 2019 (Jeff Willert, 169/2, 2007)
Tie-down roping: 7.3 seconds, Randall Carlisle, 2010 (16.1/2, Clint Cooper, 2010; Blair Burk, 2013; Trent Creager, 27.6/3, 2007)
Barrel racing: 13.79 seconds, Layna Kight, 2008 (28.06/2, Kassie Mowry, 2010; Sabrina Ketchum, 42.62/3, 2006)
Steer roping: 8.8 seconds, Brent Lewis, 2018 (41.6/4, Trevor Brazile, 2002)
Bull riding: 91 points, Brian Herman, 1995; Colin McTaggart, 2010 (Jim Crosby, 165/2, 2007)

PRCA Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

     HTML Sitemap | XML Sitemap
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App PRCA on CC+