Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA For The Record: Wrangler NFR Round 7

by Matt Naber | Nov 28, 2019

PRCA Media Coordinator

Lucky Round 7 is when cowboys begin their mad dash for the finish line, as winning the average often means winning the world.

This approach worked well for bull rider J.W. Harris during the 2010 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo as he set the Round 7 record en route to winning his second average title and third consecutive world title – a feat that hadn’t been accomplished since Don Gay did it between 1979-81 and wasn’t topped until Sage Kimzey won his fourth world title in 2017. 

Harris posted a 94.5-point ride on Frontier Rodeo’s Smoke Screen during Round 7 in 2010 and tied the Wrangler NFR record for bull riding with four round wins (2, 5, 6 and 7). The Texas cowboy placed in eight of the 10 rounds, never lower than fourth, to set a single-event record of $158,738 and finished the season with $246,541. (Chase Dougherty now holds the record for most money won at a Wrangler NFR with $232,750, set in 2018.)

Harris is still going strong, having won nearly $2 million in ProRodeo since his rookie year in 2005. He’s won four world titles (2008-10, 2013) and made nine consecutive trips to the Wrangler NFR in 2006-14. During the 2019 season he won the San Antonio (Texas) Stock Show & Rodeo and was co-champion at Rodeo Corpus Christi (Texas).

One of his most-notable regular-season achievements was making the highest-scored ride at an Xtreme Bulls Tour event with 96 points on Flying U Rodeo’s Werewolf in Reno, Nev., in 2006. 

Harris also holds or shares rodeo records at:
• The Cowboy Capital of the World PRCA Rodeo in Stephenville, Texas – 91 points, 2008
• Ellensburg (Wash) Rodeo – 95 points, 2006
• Pendleton (Ore.) Round-Up – 179 points on two head, 2008
• The Washington State Fair Pro Rodeo in Puyallup, Wash. – 92 points, 2009

The following is the breakdown of the highest scores and fastest times recorded for the seventh round of the Wrangler NFR.

Bareback Riding

91.5 points
• Bobby Mote on Big Bend Rodeo’s Spring Fling, 2008

Steer Wrestling

3.1 seconds 
• Matt Reeves, 2013

Team Roping

3.6 seconds
• Derrick Begay/Cesar de la Cruz, 2009
• Clay Tryan/Travis Graves, 2012
• Trevor Brazile/Patrick Smith, 2015

Saddle Bronc Riding

90 points 
• Billy Etbauer on Bar T Rodeo’s Son of Sadie, 2009
• Chase Brooks on Corey & Lange Rodeo's Diamond Fever, 2018
• Wade Sundell on Lancaster & Jones Pro Rodeo's Total Equines Angel Fire, 2018

Tie-down Roping

6.7 seconds
• Trevor Brazile, 2007
• Cody Ohl, 2013
• Matt Shiozawa, 2015

Barrel Racing

13.40 seconds 
• Tillar Murray, 2017

Bull Riding

94.5 points
• J.W. Harris on Frontier Rodeo’s Smoke Screen, 2010

These records, and the records of the other nine rounds, could be broken Dec. 5-14. Fans can check with for updates throughout the competition and watch the action unfold on CBS SportsNetwork or on delay at

PRCA Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

     HTML Sitemap | XML Sitemap
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App PRCA on CC+