Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA For The Record: Casper

by Matt Naber | Jul 09, 2019

PRCA Media Coordinator

The history behind the Central Wyoming Fair & PRCA Rodeo is as wild as the Cowboy State itself.

A mere 15 years after the town’s founding, Casper, Wyo., held its first fair in 1904, but a permanent location wasn’t established until 1947. 

The first producers of the rodeo all went on to be members of the inaugural class of inductees into the ProRodeo Hall of Fame in 1979. 

Montana cowboy Leo Cremer was the original producer of the Casper rodeo. He later partnered with Harry Knight. Several years later, Knight partnered with the legendary Gene Autry

By 1955, Casper became a ProRodeo competition, and since then many of the biggest names in ProRodeo have competed there, but only the best have left their marks in the record book. 

Saddle bronc rider Jake Wright set Casper’s 90-point record in 2012 en route to matching Jess Martin for the two-head average record at 172 points. That year marked the beginning of Wright’s seven consecutive trips to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (2012-18), and the Utah cowboy is still going strong. 

On July 1, Wright was ranked 33rd in the PRCA | RAM World Standings with $19,729, and his successful Cowboy Christmas run moved him to 28th with $28,089.

Wright was co-champion at the Cody (Wyo.) Stampede with an 89.5-point ride on Frontier Rodeo’s Big News, split fifth at the Home of Champions Rodeo in Red Lodge, Mont., and tied for seventh at the Oakley City Independence Rodeo in Oakley City, Utah.

Cowboys will have their chance to top Wright’s Casper records, and the rest, July 9-13, while collecting valuable ProRodeo Tour points. Fans unable to catch the action from the stands can see it all on

Rodeo records

Total payout: $265,675, 2018
All-around: $7,982, Caleb Smidt, 2016
Bareback riding: 88 points, Jared Smith, 2009; Heath Ford, 2011; Steven Dent, 2013 (172/2, Steven Peebles, 2009)
Steer wrestling: 3.1 seconds, Wade Sumpter, 2011 (7.6/2, Casey McMillen and Matt Reeves, 2007; 11.9/3, Wade Sumpter, 2011)
Team roping: 3.9 seconds, Tyler Wade/Tyler McKnight, 2012 (10.3/2, Charles Pogue/Britt Bockius, 2001; Clay Tryan/Caleb Twisselman, 2001; Travis Tryan/Michael Jones, 2008; Tyler Wade/Dakota Kirchenschlager, 2016; 16.4/3, Clay Tryan/Patrick Smith, 2006)
Saddle bronc riding: 90 points, Jake Wright, 2012 (172/2, Jess Martin, 2002; Jake Wright, 2012)
Tie-down roping: 7.4 seconds, Fred Whitfield, 2002 (15.6/2, Scott Kormos, 2017)
Barrel racing: 16.24 seconds, Patti Jo Higdon, 2003
Bull riding: 92 points, Craig Begay, 2009 (176.5/2, Boudreaux Campbell, 2018)

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com