Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA For The Record: Wainwright

by Matt Naber | Jun 20, 2019

PRCA Media Coordinator

Last year, with a population of about 6,000, the small town of Wainwright, Alberta, ponied up the biggest payout for the Wainwright Stampede since the rodeo started in 1953. The small-town rodeo with a big reputation has played host to some of the most iconic cowboys in ProRodeo.  

Saddle bronc rider Chris Andersen set the Wainwright record in 1983 with his 90-point ride. The closest anyone has come to beating his Wainwright Stampede record was Brad Rudolf with an 88-point ride in 2012. 

Although Andersen never made it to the National Finals Rodeo, the Canadian cowboy was successful in the Great White North. In the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association’s standings, he ranked third in 1982, fifth in 1983, fourth in 1986, fifth in 1988 and won Cowboy of the Year in 1989. 

Down in the U.S., Andersen won the Deadwood (S.D.) Days of ’76 Rodeo in 1983, Parada del Sol in Scottsdale, Ariz., in 1988 and the Big Sky Roundup Rodeo in Great Falls, Mont., in 1992.

The Andersen tradition of rodeo success continues today as his son, Ben, 19, competed at his first Canadian Finals Rodeo in 2018 and ended the season ranked third in the CPRA standings. He’s second in the 2019 PRCA | Resistol Rookie Standings for saddle bronc riding with $7,740. 

Another historical moment in Canadian rodeo occurred at the Wainwright Stampede when bull rider Bruce Johansen set the Wainwright record of 94 points on Vold Rodeo’s Hagar in 1980. At the time, it was the highest-scored bull ride in the CPRA. It is still tied for the second-highest score with Greg Whitlow’s 2001 ride on Girletz Rodeo’s Lights Out at Strathmore, Alberta. Cody Snyder set the highest-scored bull ride in the CPRA with a 95-point ride on Northcott Rodeo’s Confusion at the 1983 Canadian Finals Rodeo.  

Cowboys will have their chance to top Andersen and Johansen’s records while earning their share of the Wainwright prize money June 20-23. 

Rodeo records

Total payout: $199,550 in 2018
Bareback riding: 88 points, Billy Laye, 1994; Brian Bain, 2011
Steer wrestling: 3.3 seconds, David Roy, 2002; Beau Franzen, 2006
Team roping: 4.1 seconds, Riley Minor/Brady Minor, 2010
Saddle bronc riding: 90 points, Chris Andersen, 1983
Tie-down roping: 7.1 seconds, Tyson Durfey, 2011
Barrel racing:  15.8 seconds, Bonnie Lemaire, 1978
Bull riding: 94 points, Bruce Johansen, 1980 (then a CPRA record, it still stands in a tie for second on the all-time list)

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com