Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

For the Record: Austin

by Matt Naber | Mar 14, 2019

Since 1989, Rodeo Austin (Texas) has attracted some of the biggest names in ProRodeo, since it’s not uncommon for cowboys to win more than $10,000.

Boasting payouts in excess of $500,000, Rodeo Austin has been one of the Top 10 highest-paying competitions in ProRodeo the last few years. With big money come big rides and fast runs, and the Austin records reflect that. 

Bareback rider Royce Ford set two records at Rodeo Austin in 2005. His 92-point, record-setting ride helped him also set the three-head average record of 259 points.

Ford set the Austin record in the middle of a hot streak that consisted of seven consecutive qualifications to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (2003-09). His eighth qualification came in 2011. 

The 2005 season was particularly good for the Colorado cowboy, as he won the Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Round at the Days of ’47 Rodeo in Salt Lake City and won the Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Round and was co-champion for the average title at the Reno (Nev.) Rodeo. He also picked up wins at the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo, the Laughlin (Nev.) River Stampede and was co-champion at the Red Bluff (Calif.) Roundup in 2005. 

All told, Ford’s ProRodeo career from 2000 through 2011 was worth more than $1 million in prize money.

Now, his 2005 records, and the rest, could be broken at Rodeo Austin, March 16-30. 

Rodeo records

Total payout: $523,486, 2016
All-around: $12,012, Ryan Jarrett, 2016
Bareback riding: 92 points, Royce Ford, 2005 (259 points on three head, Ford, 2005)
Steer wrestling: 3.2 seconds, Levi Wisness, 2007; Matt Reeves, 2009; Casey Martin, 2014; Cole Edge, 2018 (11.3/3, Reeves, 2010; 7.4/2, Todd Fox, 1991)
Team roping: 3.9 seconds, JoJo LeMond/Randon Adams, 2009; Derrick Begay/Will Woodfin, 2014; Aaron Tsinigine/Kory Koontz, 2014; Dustin Egusquiza/Kory Koontz, 2017 (14.7/3, Mike Bacon/Dennis Gatz, 2008; 9.5/2, Speed Williams/Rich Skelton, 2000)
Saddle bronc riding: 94 points, Spencer Wright, 2015 (253/3, Wade Sundell, 2010; 165/2, Bobby Griswold, 1999)
Tie-down roping: 7.0 seconds, Fred Whitfield, 2014 (23.9/3, Scott Kormos, 2010; 16.4/2, Blair Burk, 1999)
Barrel racing:  14.27 seconds, Kappy Allen, 2000 (44.16/3, Jill Moody, 2009)
Bull riding: 94 points, Clint Branger, 1994; Trey Traweek, 2004; Justin Edmonds, 2005 (265/3, Logan Knibbe, 2003; 180/2, Cody Hancock, 2006)

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com