Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

For the Record: San Angelo

by Matt Naber | Feb 01, 2019

Since 1949, the San Angelo (Texas) Rodeo has hosted some of the biggest names in ProRodeo and witnessed some fast times and high scores as cowboys competed for this iconic rodeo’s large payout.

Winning big in San Angelo can set the pace for the rest of the year, as its committee purse tied for 22nd most across all PRCA rodeos in 2018. It’s not unheard of for cowboys to leave with more than $10,000. But only the best leave with their name in the San Angelo record book.

ProRodeo Hall of Famer and three-time world champion steer wrestler Roy Duvall has the oldest standing record at San Angelo. In 1986, the Oklahoma cowboy made a record 2.9-second run that went unmatched until Ronnie Fields equaled it in 2007. Duvall also set the record of 6.7 seconds on two head in 1990. 

Duvall’s rise to rodeo fame was far from typical, since he never saw a rodeo until he was in high school. Initially, the Boynton, Okla., cowboy competed in bareback riding and bull riding, but he quickly figured out that his real talent was in steer wrestling, where he could take advantage of his strength and 6-foot-3, 225-pound frame. 

Duvall holds the record for most qualifications to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo in steer wrestling – 24 times, including a 21-year run from 1966-86. He returned to Las Vegas in 1990 and 1991 and finally in 1994, a Wrangler NFR legacy that spanned 28 years. During that time, he won three world championships – 1967, 1969 and 1972. 

Duvall’s records at San Angelo, and the rest, could be topped during the 2019 rodeo, which runs Feb. 1-15.  

Rodeo records
Total payout: $492,775, 2008
All-around: $12,250, Josh Peek, 2017
Bareback riding: 91.5 points, Chad Rutherford, 2017 (177.5 points on two head, Jake Vold, 2016)
Steer wrestling: 2.9 seconds, Roy Duvall, 1986; Ronnie Fields, 2007 (6.7/2, Roy Duvall, 1990; 10.2/3, Baylor Roche, 2017; 15.1/4, Olin Hannum, 2012)
Team roping: 3.5 seconds, Blaine Linaweaver/Jory Levy, 2001 (12.6/3, Spencer Mitchell/Justin Wade Davis, 2016; 20.3/4, Chace Thompson/Chad Williams, 2013)
Saddle bronc riding: 91 points, Wade Sundell, 2015 (177/2, Sundell, 2015)
Tie-down roping: 6.8 seconds, Shane Hanchey, 2014 (23.5/3, Timber Moore, 2014; 34.1/4, Cody Ohl, 2007)
Barrel racing: 13.64, Kay Blandford, 1995 (42.72/3, Jennifer Wilson, 2005)
Steer roping: 8.5, Guy Allen, 2001 (30.5/3, Allen, 2001)
Bull riding: 92, Eric Bogany, 1994; Ryan Brown, 2003 (180.5/2, Trey Benton III 2018)

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com