Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

Billquist honored as Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year

by User Not Found | Oct 19, 2017


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - With more than 25 years of service and dedication to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock, Dr. Jerry Billquist has been selected as the 2017 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year. Billquist will be honored at the PRCA Awards Banquet on Dec. 6 at the South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa in Las Vegas.

"I was pretty overwhelmed," Billquist said about receiving the honor. "It's been something I'd have loved to win and I've been a finalist three times. We skipped last year (being nominated). I thought, 'Well, my window of opportunity has passed. 'But it didn't. It's really quite an honor."

Other finalists for the 2017 award were Dr. Benjamin Espy, San Antonio, Texas; Dr. Troy Ford, Clovis, Calif.; Dr. Gary Harbin, Ponoka, Alberta; and Dr. Michael Harms, Canby, Ore.

The Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award was created in 2010 to spotlight and honor veterinarians who are dedicated to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock. PRCA rodeo committees, PRCA members and contestants nominate a veterinarian whom they feel has shown an extraordinary commitment to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock, and is deserving of this prestigious award.

A selection committee, comprised of industry experts and advocates, takes into account each nominee's specific contributions to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock. Additional criteria, including the extent of involvement in the sport of rodeo, as well as community involvement, also are considered by the selection committee.

Past winners of the Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award are: Dr. William Anderson, Fort Worth, Texas (2010); Dr. Garth Lamb, Las Vegas, Nev. (2011); Dr. Jake Wells, San Antonio, Texas (2012); Dr. Joe Coli, Reno, Nev. (2013); Dr. J. Fred Rule, Elk City, Okla. (2014); Dr. John Boyington, Phillipsburg, Kan. (2015); and Dr. Marty Tanner, Elgin, Texas (2016).

For full coverage of the 2017 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award, including an interview with Dr. Billquist, read the Oct. 27 issue of the ProRodeo Sports News.

Photos of Dr. Tanner are available upon request. For more information, contact Jed Pugsley,

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com