The Official Home Page Of The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association PRCA RAM WORLD STANDINGS

Official Gear Of The PRCA

A whole new Wrangler Champions Challenge in 2016

2016 Champions ChallengeCOLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Wrangler Champions Challenge, presented by Justin Boots, is entering its third full season on the ProRodeo calendar with an expanded schedule, and a slightly amended format.

CBS Sports Network will again broadcast the tour, delivering 90-minutes of high-def coverage of the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association’s best contestants competing on the sport’s best stock.

The 11 teams will include seven Sponsor teams and four Rotational teams. The Sponsor teams will be partially drafted and partially filled by rotation as follows: From the top 15 eligible contestants from the year-end 2015 PRCA and/or WPRA World Standings each Sponsor team will draft two (2) franchise contestants from any separate events they choose and also randomly draw two additional event contestants, giving them a total of four drafted contestants. These four contestants will participate in all 2016 Champions Challenge events for the team that drafted them. The remaining three contestant positions will be filled by each team, prior to Rotational Team selections, based upon the remaining top eligible 2016 PRCA and/or WPRA World Standings 30 days prior to each Champions Challenge rodeo. For only the Rapid City (S.D.) and Scottsdale (Ariz.) Champions Challenges, these contestant positions will be based upon year-end 2015 PRCA and/or WPRA world standings. The Coors team will be allowed to draft all seven contestant positions, will keep the same team members all season and will not be subject to the above requirement to rotate team members.

The four Rotational Teams will have all contestant positions filled by the next highest unselected eligible contestants in the PRCA and/or WPRA 2016 world standings 30 days prior to each Champions Challenge rodeo.

The prize money payout is $16,000 per event at each of the Wrangler Champions Challenge events, with a $400 appearance fee going to each contestant from that payout. With the first-place award of $3,944, this is among the highest of any of the PRCA’s one-go rodeos.

Salt Lake City, Utah, was added to the 2016 Wrangler Champions Challenge lineup this year (see schedule below).

2016 team sponsors include Wrangler, Justin Boots, B&W Trailer Hitches, RAM, Coors Banquet, Experience Kissimmee, Las Vegas, and ProRodeo Gear. The teams drafted their roster during a draft on Jan. 15, 2016 (Complete draft roster listed below).

Team standings will be kept and a champion crowned after the Wrangler Champions Challenge Finale this fall.

The made-for-TV series has a wide geographic spread with nine events – plus a Finale in the fall – set in 10 states, from the season opener in Rapid City, S.D., all the way to Kissimmee, Fla.

2016 Wrangler Champions Challenge presented by Justin Boots Schedule


Event Date

Broadcast Date

Rapid City, S.D.

Feb. 3

Feb. 14 @ 10:30 PM ET

Scottsdale, Ariz.

Feb. 28

March 6 @ 10:30 PM ET

Redding, Ca.

May 21

June 4 @ 5:30 PM ET

Spanish Fork, Utah

June 4

June 11 @ 8:00 PM ET

Kissimmee, Fla.

June 11

June 18 @ 5:30 PM ET

Salt Lake City, Utah

July 19

July 30 @ 6:30 PM ET

Cody, Wyo.

Aug. 14

Aug. 28 @ 10:30 PM ET

Kennewick, Wash.

Aug. 23

Sept. 4 @ 10:30 PM ET

Pueblo, Colo.

Aug. 31

Sept. 11 @ 10:30 PM ET

Team Roster

Team Wrangler:

BB – Tanner Aus
SW – Ty Erickson
GBR – Cassidy Kruse
BR – Joe Frost

Team Justin Boots:
BB – Tim O’Connell
SB – Heith DeMoss
GBR – Mary Walker
BR – Brennon Eldred

Team Coors:
BB – Orin Larsen
SW – Clayton Hass
TR – Jake Cooper/Travis Woodard
SB – Jake Wright
TD – Cade Swor
GBR – Carley Richardson
BR – Shane Proctor

Team B&W Trailer Hitches:
SW – Dakota Eldridge
TR – Luke Brown/Jake Long
TD – Hunter Herrin
BR – Sage Kimzey

Team RAM:
SW – K.C. Jones
SB – Tyrel Larsen
GBR – Jana Bean
BR – Brett Stall

Team PRCA 1:
SW – Blake Knowles
TR – Colby Lovell/Kory Koontz
SB – Jacobs Crawley
BR – Parker Breding

Team PRCA 2:
TR – Coleman Proctor/Russell Cardoza
SB – CoBurn Bradshaw
TD – Ryan Jarrett
BR – Ty Wallace

PRCA National Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans
Copyright © 2018 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour